Chad’s Jeans

I gave my son’s jeans away today

Carpenter jeans that fit loosely
with lots of pockets that he’d stuff
full of all the little things he loved

Elastic waist jeans with drawstring ties
when he could no longer manage
the button and zipper

Some like new, others faded
showing the wear and tear
of years of washings

Funny, how they still
held his fragrance and brought back
the essence of his spirit
and so many memories

I buried my face in the soft fabric
and longed to feel
the warmth of his body
within them once more

As tears fell from my eyes
I packed them away
into large bags
to be taken to Goodwill

But the memories remain
and keep him alive
in my heart

After all, they were just jeans

–Debbie Dovel

Leave a Reply

